Author Topic: Redstone Problems?  (Read 1684 times)

sidlo (ChaChaman87)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Foo: +4/-0
Redstone Problems?
« on: May 14, 2014, 10:58:47 AM »
I built two of these piston doors the other day (exactly the same wiring), I'm absolutely positive the pistons are getting power but it's not working for some reason. It'd odd. One of them are working where as the other won't give power to the pistons for some reason. Was wondering if anyone (although nobody is really playing) has ran into the same problem and if they know how to fix it.

Yes, I have tried breaking and replacing the pistons and the redstone.

sidlo (ChaChaman87)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Foo: +4/-0
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 11:01:01 AM »
It's a 3x3 door with one block missing in the middle so there aren't any double piston extenders or anything. (Don't know if this really helps though)

iancj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
  • Foo: +8/-8
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2014, 05:09:32 PM »
The last picture indicates to me that there is no redstone running into the piston. In order to power a piston, you must have either redstone running into it in a line, a repeater running into it, or redstone on the level ABOVE the piston.
IE.Redstone, Piston, Stone.
0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0
0 R P 0 0
S S S S S

In the last picture, I see the redstone "turning" and running into the piston. Redstone doesn't do that, therefore you must have redstone underneath the piston. Therefore, none of the redstone is going into the piston. To fix this, bring the redstone in the last picture toward the viewer, so that it forms a line pointing into the piston.

sidlo (ChaChaman87)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Foo: +4/-0
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2014, 01:20:26 AM »
I've tried placing a lever directly next to the piston in that area, but it still won't work. My best bet is that it's something in the res perms since when I tried it in an un res'd area in my base (such as the other piston door I made), it works perfectly fine.
My flags are: +ignite +container +use +build and move
Wondering if any of those effect pistons.

littlewill4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Foo: +0/-0
  • no regrets.
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2014, 04:40:29 AM »
There is a flag specifically for pistons. Turn the flag for pistons to true and both of them should work.
-Little

Yukiiro_Nite

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Foo: +11/-3
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2014, 05:16:43 AM »
so, something like /res set resname pistons true

sidlo (ChaChaman87)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Foo: +4/-0
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2014, 09:36:44 AM »
Thanks, it works now. Is there a way to set that flag to automatically be set to true whenever you create a residence?

XxMiltoniusxX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Foo: +1/-13
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2014, 09:31:05 AM »
This isn't a major problem, just remember to turn piston perms on. Having pistons as an automatically "on" perm can lead to griefing.
The trust of the innocent is the liar's most useful tool.

sidlo (ChaChaman87)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Foo: +4/-0
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2014, 06:50:38 AM »
Wait, so if build is false, then people -can't- build there, right?

littlewill4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Foo: +0/-0
  • no regrets.
Re: Redstone Problems?
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2014, 12:52:10 PM »
Yes, if the build flag is set to false, other players cannot build in your res.
-Little